Looking at Life from Both Sides Now

If you didn’t see the 44th Kennedy Center Honors program this month, you should check out some of it online. The song that really hit me was Brittany Howard and Herbie Hancock performing Joni Mitchell’s “Both Sides Now.”

I always found the beautiful song to be achingly sad and this version is perfect from that perspective.

Oh, but now old friends they’re acting strange
And they shake their heads and they tell me that I’ve changed
Well something’s lost, but something’s gained
In living every day
I’ve looked at life from both sides now
From win and lose and still somehow
It’s life’s illusions I recall
I really don’t know life at all

Have you ever watched the film Love, Actually? It is a perennial holiday favorite for a lot of people. I like it but the scene where finds out that the necklace her husband bought is not her gift. He’s having an affair. Her gift is a Joni CD. The CD she gets is the Both Sides Now album where Joni redid that song in a much bluer version.

I’m taking my Joni albums off the shelf and watching the black vinyl spin as I drink a brandy. It’s the day after Christmas. The year is ending. I didn’t see friends or family due to COVID surging again. The sky today was full of dark clouds. These were not puffy white clouds against a bright blue sky.

But now they only block the sun
They rain and they snow on everyone
So many things I would have done
But clouds got in my way

More to come tomorrow…

Clouds via Pexels.com

Published by Pamela Milne

teacher, writer, gentle soul, probably living North of you

One thought on “Looking at Life from Both Sides Now

Leave a comment

Hugh Mahon

artist & educator

Kristin D'Agostino

journalist, poet, photographer

Writing the Day

A Ronka Poetry Practice Since 2014

Writing Through the Soul to Heal the Soul

Welcome to Writing Through the Soul to Heal the Soul. Where you will learn everything you need to know to heal your soul through writing! Thanks for stopping by.

Paul's Wonderful World of Color

The Color Photography of Paul Szlosek

Lluís Bussé

Barcelona's Multiverse | Art | Culture | Science

Milneville

My Online Hometown -Established 2020

Global Poemic

Kindred Voices on the Era of COVID-19

WORDSNOW HEART

It is all about words. Your words are enough to shatter someone's heart. Your words are enough to make a broken heart unbroken. Words have the power to change your life perspectives.

Bending moments

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Beyond Bounds

Sharing thoughts. Changing perspectives.

Ephemeral Elegies

The Poetry of Emotion

Night • Dawn • Day

Give light, and the darkness will disappear of itself

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started